honey-sriracha hummus

IMG_0690

…say that five times fast!

The hubs and I had a productive Saturday morning not too long ago. Errands, housework – the whole nine yards. We had reached the point in the day where we were far enough past lunchtime to not really justify another full-blown meal before dinner, but we were in dire need of a filling but healthy snack before dinner. I asked about what he was curious for, and after a quick survey in the fridge (finding nothing snack-worthy), he told me that he was craving a dip of sorts. That being said, I walked over to the pantry, pulled on my apron and settled down to business.

After a quick perusal of what we had on hand, I noticed a ridiculous amount (read: 6 cans!) of White Northern Beans. One could say that I am a huge fan of beans, but that may be an understatement. I LOVE me some beans, y’all! Packed full of protein, low in sodium, and easily adaptable to other flavors, I find myself cooking with them more often than not. Before I knew what I was doing, I was reaching for the front can, thinking to myself “I’ll make hummus!”

IMG_0684

The hubs was fully on board. His only request…make it spicy, please!

Honey-Sriracha Hummus  {original recipe}

{makes about 16 ounces}

1 can (14.5 ounces) White Nothern Beans, drained of excess liquid and rinsed well

1 can (4 ounces) of diced green chiles

1/8  C chicken stock

1 tsp. Sriracha (this amount varies; for a spicier version, add more…and vice versa for a less hot version)

1 tsp. honey (feel free to use more or less, as this is what will reduce the heat level of your hummus)

1/2 tsp. garlic powder

salt and pepper, to taste

Into your food processor, add in the drained/rinsed can of beans, the can of green chiles, garlic powder, chicken stock, and honey. Puree until very smooth. This time will vary, depending on the strength and power of your machine.

IMG_0686

Scrape down the sides of the bowl, and season with salt and pepper. Give it another good minute or two of pureeing, then pour into a bowl and serve. Hummus will last for up to a week in the refrigerator, packed into an airtight container. IMG_0688

IMG_0690

Not only is this a great dip for vegetables, pita chips, etc. but it also makes a great sandwich spread. Try it on a turkey sandwich with some Swiss cheese and spinach. I’ve also had great success using it as a base for tuna salad; I swapped out the mayo (which I detest, it’s my foodie downfall) for it, mixed in some arugula, and was in heaven. Or if you’re more in the mood for dinner, feel free to thin with a little pasta cooking liquid, and toss with your favorite whole-wheat pasta, and maybe some grilled chicken. The possibilities are endless! Oh hummus, how I love you…let me count the ways….

6 thoughts on “honey-sriracha hummus

share your thoughts

