“twisted” shrimp & grits

shrimpandgrits7

I am not, what you would call, a “true Southerner”. Quite the opposite, actually. I was born in New York, lived for a short time in California, and have lived the majority of my life in the Virginia area. I’ve never spent more than a few days below the Virginia border, and have never even been to New Orleans(!). But alas, my love for Southern cuisine runs deep.  Bold and spicy flavors, the ‘holy trinity’ base for all things good, the seafood…I could go on and on, but then I might never stop rambling and daydreaming about it. I would probably also start drooling.  #awkward

I suppose you could say that, since because I have never been to the soul of the South, that special city of New Orleans, one might suggest that I have never really had shrimp and grits. And they may very well be right. Sure, I’ve had my fair share at different restaurants and in different cities, but I can only dream about what gets cooked up down there. Life changing, one might say. And their probably right.

I’m going to go ahead and just say it – this recipe that I’m about to share with you, is a bit of a stretch. These are not traditional shrimp and grits by any means. I’m certain that certain people would be horrified to see that I’ve even titled this recipe as such. Because you see, my dears, there is not one single morsel of cornmeal to be found in this recipe.

shrimpandgrits1

::gasp::

This is why I’m calling these “twisted” shrimp & grits. It’s an easy weeknight meal, and most of the ingredients you probably have on hand. And in typical Alicia fashion, I kept it lighter than most grits you’ll find. With the fresh corn, herbs, and the sauce from cooking, there is no lack of flavor whatsoever (and I’ll go ahead and put it out there – cheese with seafood doesn’t always strike my fancy). However, it’s very important to use good wine when preparing this dish! Cook with wine you want to drink – the alcohol will cook out, and you’ll be left with the flavor only. If it doesn’t taste good in a glass, it won’t taste good in your final dish. Truth.

shrimpandgrits6

shrimpandgrits2

shrimpandgrits5

Hopefully no one finds this recipe sacrilegious to the name of shrimp and grits. But maybe, just maybe, they’ll try this and see it in a new light. A girl can dream.

“Twisted” Shrimp & Grits {original recipe}

{serves two, can easily be doubled or tripled}

8 ounces extra large shrimp, defrosted (if using frozen, precooked shrimp)

2 ears of corn, grated

1/2 tsp. basil

1/2 tsp. rosemary

1/4 c. white wine

2 tsp. lemon juice

1 tsp. butter

arugula (3ish cups)

salt & pepper, to taste

olive oil

Melt butter in a large saute pan over medium-low heat.

Add white wine and lemon juice. Stir to incorporate. Add shrimp, and season all with salt and pepper; cover and cook until shrimp is just turning pink, about 4-5 minutes. Transfer shrimp to a bowl, adding most of the cooking liquid, and cover tightly with foil.

Into the pan add the grated corn, herbs, salt and pepper. Cook 7-10 minutes, until slightly thickened. Transfer mixture into a bowl and cover to keep warm.

Into the same pan, wiped clean, add in the arugula. Cook on low heat, tossing with tongs, until slightly wilted.

To plate: divide the corn mixture between two bowls. Top each with half of the wilted arugula, and finally, the cooked shrimp. Pour the cooking liquid over each bowl.

Bon appetit!

4 thoughts on ““twisted” shrimp & grits

    • Thanks! And garlic is totally fabulous – would definitely be an amazing addition (in fact, I made this last night and threw in a few cloves!). So happy to hear you like my blog, and thanks for stopping by!

share your thoughts

