fresh tagliatelle pasta

This is something that I have been wanting to make for a long time.

Fresh pasta was, for me at least, one of those recipes that always seemed a little overwhelming. Perhaps it was the thought of have to well the eggs, knead it out with flour (on my non-existent counterspace)…all this paired with the fact that I don’t have a pasta roller. It was, however, always a recipe I pushed to the bottom of the list when asked about it. “One day, I promise I will make it”…I would tell my husband when he would ask me if I would ever be tempted to try it out.

Well today, my dears, his wish came true.

IMG_0790

I stumbled upon this recipe when I was perusing the Williams-Sonoma blog not too long ago. I swear, I can sit and read food blogs, recipes, and cookbooks for hours and hours. It’s a rare treat, so when I get the opportunity to do so, I seize it by the horns. This was on there, and when I saw that the recipe used the food processor instead of the traditional well method, I almost started jumping up and down. I decided that this glorious recipe was going to be dinner. And when I told my husband we were going to have it, he couldn’t have been more thrilled.

So go ahead, get your pasta on! I promise, you’ll love it.

~~~

Fresh Egg Pasta Dough {recipe from Williams-Sonoma Blog, Taste}

2-1/2 C. flour, plus extra for dusting the board

4 large eggs

2 tsp. extra virgin olive oil

First, fit your food processor with the metal blade. Add 2 cups of the flour to the food processor work bowl, and set aside the remaining 1/2 cup for adjusting the consistency of the dough. Add in the egg and olive oil.

Process the mixture until the flour is evenly moistened; I gave it 10-15 long pulses in the food processor. Pinch the dough to check its consistency. If it is still slightly sticky, add in another tablespoon of flour and process for about 10 seconds. Check the dough again, and repeat until you can pinch the dough and it feels moist, but is no longer gummy on your hands (this took about 2 additional tablespoons/pulse combinations for me).

Photo 2014-01-21 01.26.04 PM

Turn the dough out onto a well-floured wooden cutting board and knead until smooth and shiny, about 2-3 minutes. Wrap well in plastic wrap and let sit at room temperature for 45 minutes.

Photo 2014-01-21 01.31.09 PM

Now, this is where we all may vary slightly. After I let the dough sit for the 45 minutes, I placed it in the refrigerator until I was ready to use it for dinner. If you plan on waiting longer than 24 hours to use it, it needs to go into the freezer. If you choose the freezer route, set it in the refrigerator to thaw a few hours before you are ready for it. 

At thirty minutes before you are ready to cook the pasta, begin rolling the dough out. Liberally flour your wooden work surface, and roll the dough out as thin as you can (mine is about 16 x 20, and I rolled the dough out to cover its entire surface). Cut it it half horizontally, and sprinkle with flour.

Photo 2014-01-21 05.44.18 PM

Roll each half of dough up, pinwheel style, and use your knife or pizza cutter to cut into thin strips. Don’t worry if your pinwheels are not all perfectly symmetrical, this is homemade, after all! Unroll each strand onto a large baking sheet sprinkled with flour, and let sit at room temperature for 30 minutes.

Photo 2014-01-21 05.45.51 PM

Photo 2014-01-21 05.58.33 PM

Bring a large pot of water to boil. Once boiling, add a liberal amount of salt (you want it to taste like the sea), and wait for it to return to boil. The pasta will cook in about 1-2 minutes; test a noodle for al dente, then drain and serve!

Photo 2014-01-21 06.14.42 PM

Serve with any of your favorite pasta sauces, whether it be Alfredo, marinara, bolognese…or just plain with a little butter and salt. I love it with my Tomato-Onion-Butter Sauce.

Pasta will keep in the fridge, well covered, for another day or so.

6 thoughts on “fresh tagliatelle pasta

  1. OMG. I have been dying to make fresh pasta but i haven’t because I thought I could only use a stand mixer (which I don’t have but am dying dying dying for!!). What other pasta can I make without a pasta maker???

    • Just about anything! The same recipe above can be rolled out, cut into squares, filled with a teaspoon or so of filling, then topped with another square – hello ravioli! Just be sure to seal the edges with a bit of egg wash. You can also do thinner cut pasta (linguine, fettucini, etc) – the possibilities are abundant!

share your thoughts

