citrus-sriracha cod with sauteed vegetables

I cannot tell a lie. Today was one of those days.

The days where, as much as I love cooking, I just want to come home from work and not.do.anything. It took all effort and energy I had left to even open the fridge and think about what to make for dinner. I just wasn’t feeling it.

Fortunately for me, the hubs had gone on a grocery run the day before, so I had a beautiful piece of cod that was just calling my name. I pulled it out and started thinking about what to marinade it in. And guys – I’m being honest…this marinade I completely threw together on a whim. And I’ll tell you what, it just clicked.

IMG_0727

The flavors in this marinade balance each other out so beautifully. The srircacha is just hot enough, and the honey cuts a little bit of that heat. The citrus juice adds that perfect kick of acidity, and the soy sauce brings a deeper level of flavor. The smoothness of the cod was the perfect vehicle – it absorbed all those great flavors, and stayed so moist from cooking it in a foil packet(!). Served atop a bed of sauteed vegetables, it truly was the perfect weeknight meal. I used onion and squash because it’s what I had on hand, but you could really use anything. The hubs devoured it, and so did I. One of my most favorite meals are the ones thrown together without a thought, and when they turn out so perfectly, everybody wins.

IMG_0726

Citrus-Srircacha Cod with Sauteed Vegetables {original recipe}

serves 2

1 lb. cod (or really, any white fish – I think mahi mahi would be great here as well!)
3/4 C orange juice
2 tbsp lemon juice
3 tbsp lime juice
2 tbsp honey
2 tsp srircacha
1/4 C low sodium soy sauce

salt and pepper to taste

1 yellow squash
3/4 of a large white onion
1/3 C apple cider
1 tbsp whole grain mustard
salt and pepper to taste
1.5 tsp thyme

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Line a 9 x 13 baking dish with foil (we’re going to fold the foil over the fish to make a packet, allowing it to steam).

To make the marinade – in a small dish, combine the orange juice, lemon juice, lime juice, honey, srircacha, and soy sauce.  Season to taste with salt and pepper. Pour over the fish, and fold up the sides of the foil, sealing in the fish. Cook for 25-30 minutes, or until fish is firm and white.

While the fish is cooking, prepare the vegetables. Preheat a medium, non-stick skillet over medium heat. Give it a few good turns of olive oil, and add in the sliced squash and onions. Season with salt and pepper, and cook for 3-5 minutes or until the onions become translucent. Stir in the apple cider, whole grain mustard, and thyme. Cook all together until the apple cider has evaporated. Cover to keep warm.

I like to serve the fish atop the sauteed vegetables, and drizzle the cooking liquid from the fish over top each bowl. A great, crusty French bread goes wonderfully with this dish, to sop up the broth.

11 thoughts on “citrus-sriracha cod with sauteed vegetables

share your thoughts

