strawberry frozen yogurt with dark chocolate chunks

Raise your hand if you like dessert. that’s what I thought.

Now, raise your hand if you like healthy dessert. (hopefully it’s not just me sticking my hand up in the air!)

I adore frozen treats in all ways, shapes and forms. I also have a sweet tooth the size of China, which is a blessing and a curse. Very rarely do I meet a dessert that I don’t like, which is why I decided that, after a year(!) of sitting idle in my pantry, I had to bring out the ice cream make that the hubs and I got for a wedding gift.

ice-cream-maker

Now, we all know that winter is the season of comfort food. For me, ice cream is comfort food. I can’t help it, I’ve always enjoyed digging into a bowl of delicious, indulgent ice cream. It could be 100 degrees or 0 degrees, it ain’t no thang to me. And the more chocolate involved in there, the better! But with the holiday season finally coming to an end, I figured that I had to “jazz up” or so to speak, my dessert. I had to do it in such a way to balance out all the richness from Thanksgiving/Christmas/New Year’s, and their corresponding celebrations.

Enter the trendy, hip and super cool ingredient of Greek yogurt. I know, I know…everyone cooks with this, sings its praises, and yes – I am one of “those people”. But I just can’t help myself, I love it. Chock full of protein, and low in sugar, it makes the perfect base for a delicious, frozen treat. And yes, I like just plain ol’ Greek yogurt. Sure, I’ll eat a flavored one if you put it in front of me (there really isn’t anything I would eat, except lima beans, but that’s another story for another time), but I like it plain, drizzled with a little bit of local honey. Perfection.

So! Let’s talk fro yo, shall we?! The reason that I am such a huge fan of this machine (I’ve used it twice already this week!), is because you can crank out a scrumptious, homemade, and healthy treat in just a matter of minutes. I kid you not, this dessert comes together in just a matter of minutes before placing it in the ice cream maker. Dump all the ingredients into a food processor, whirl away until combined, then pour into your ice cream maker and process according to the manufacturer’s instructions. Boom! You’re done. And well on your way to enjoying a cold dish of healthy frozen yogurt. *If you don’t have an ice cream maker (or even if you do, but want to try something different!), give this a try in popsicle molds! I promise you, it will not disappoint. 

~~~

Strawberry Frozen Yogurt with Dark Chocolate Chunks

{recipe adapted slightly from Two Peas and Their Pod}

The manufacturer suggests placing the mixing bowl of the machine into the freezer before using. This aids in the process of making the final product – if you don’t have overnight, any time will do!

32 ounces of Greek yogurt (I used Chobani 0%)

1/2 – 1 C sugar (feel free to adjust according to your taste; I went big and went for the full cup – though I think next time I will go closer to the side of the 3/4 amount)

1 tsp. good vanilla extract

1 bag of frozen strawberries, thawed

pinch salt

1/2 C (heaping is fine!) of good dark chocolate chunks, shaved thin

In your food processor, combine all ingredients except for the dark chocolate chunks. Process until very smooth.

IMG_0698

Turn into the bowl of your ice cream maker, and freeze according to the manufacturer’s directions. Mine goes for about 25 minutes. Once completed, turn out into your storage container and fold in the chocolate chunks. Serve immediately, or freeze for later.

IMG_0701 (1)

*be warned – while this comes out of the machine with a soft-serve like consistency, it will harden once it sits in the freezer for some time. I like to set it out an hour, at least, before serving, checking occasionally for softness. That is, if you can wait that long! 

5 thoughts on “strawberry frozen yogurt with dark chocolate chunks

    • Thank you! I definitely love having this sweet machine as part of my kitchen arsenal. It is a worthwhile investment, especially when you think about how you can also control the quality of ingredients you put in, what and how often you make, etc. Thanks for stopping by!

  1. Pingback: vanilla buttermilk ice cream | kitchen konfidential

share your thoughts

