gruyere fondue

Fondue is one of those meals that is like feeding yourself a warm, ooey, gooey, delicious hug.

IMG_1108

This, and my and my husband’s love of all things cheesy, is one of the reasons (well, okay…probably the main reason) that I decided to make this as our Valentine’s Day dinner. Because what is more romantic that treating yourself and your loved one to a warm, delicious bite of all things good?

I’ll be completely honest and say that I definitely reached out of my culinary comfort zone when I decided to make this meal. Before today, my experience with fondue had consisted of melting a block of Velveeta cheese with some spiced tomatoes, setting out in front of the TV during a football game, and calling it a day. Needless to say, I have come a long way since then, and have since developed a slight aversion to said cheese dip (probably one too many late night cheese dip treats, if you know what I’m saying).

Enter this recipe. When I was thumbing through my pinned and bookmarked recipes in preparation for this special meal, the lovely ladies of A Beautiful Mess caught my eye.Β Newcastle Fondue, you say? Not waiting another second, I bounced right over to that page and being surveying the post. A simple list of ingredients, to really let the cheeses shine, was a winner in my book. The use of beer?…a winner in my husband’s book. I knew that I had found the winner.

Don’t be worried if you are without a fondue pot. Unless you are close to your parents (and can probably dig out an out fondue pot from times past…the 70s…) you’re probably without one. I sure am. And while I am all about making good investments when it comes to my kitchen and cooking arsenal, I couldn’t justify going out and buying one. So I brainstormed for a bit, and then it finally came to me – the crockpot! But I wasn’t going to make it in the crockpot; I have the economy/boat-sized version, which could easily produce 5 pounds of fondue…I couldn’t burn the wallet, and tempt our waistlines, with a delicious pot of cheese that big. Instead, I decided that I would choose my final serving dish for the fondue (which ended up being a medium-sized clear glass mixing bowl), and resting it inside my crock. I weighed it down with a can, proceeded to fill it with water about 3″ from the top of the bowl, and turned it on high. Voila! Instant fondue “pot”. And I’m telling you, it worked beautifully. The cheese stayed perfectly stretchy, warm and delicious for the entire evening.

Lest I forget, choose whatever dippers you like to serve alongside your fondue! Wanting to balance out the richness of the gruyere, I opted for a variety of fresh and roasted vegetables…Brussels Sprouts, cauliflower, and tomatoes. A batch of my Italian Turkey Meatballs were also made (in a mini version, of course – I got about 30 or so from the recipe!). And because bread and cheese are a match made in heaven, I also made a fresh batch of Sourdough French Bread earlier that day, which I cubed up alongside the veggies. They all complemented each other, and the cheese, so well.

photo

photo (6)

So go on ahead, my dears – dive on into this one! It’s a wonderful treat to make for a special night, or one of those times where you just need good old fashioned comfort food, or any reason that you can think of. Enjoy!

~~~

Newcastle Fondue {adapted minimally from A Beautiful Mess}

1 clove of garlic

8 oz. shredded Gruyere cheese

4 oz.cubed Parmesan cheese

3 tablespoons flour

1 cup beer

pepper to season

First shred the cheese and combine in a bowl with the flour. Mix it around so that every piece gets coated by flour.

Slice the garlic clove down the center and rub it all over the inside of your pot. Mince the garlic and add it to pot, cook over low heat for a minute or so.

Pour in the beer and turn up the heat. Cook just until the beer begins to boil. Now turn the heat down and begin adding the cheese. Do this slowly, giving the cheese time to melt and merry with the beer.

photo (10)

Once completely combined, pour either into your fondue pot or, if you are like me, a rigged crockpot. However you serve, make sure you have a generous glass of a good,crisp white wine to enjoy alongside. Delicious!

2 thoughts on “gruyere fondue

  1. Pingback: superbowl snacks! | kitchen konfidential

  2. Pingback: valentine’s day ideas & inspirations | kitchen konfidential

share your thoughts

