thirsty thursday: whipped whimsy

Aside from the obvious reason that I love a good cocktail, I think one of my favorite reasons for the ‘thirsty thursday’ posts here at Kitchen Konfidential is the fact that I get to spend time as the ‘sous chef’ to my husband, whom I’ve begun calling the cocktail master. You all know by now that he is a lover of mixology, and I think that he is pretty darn good at what he does!

{I like to think his specific attention to detail is due to the fact that he is an engineer, and is quite the perfectionist – we’re a match made in heaven}.

This particular recipe is one that he come up with over the weekend, somewhat on the spot. We were between a winery visit and dinner, and thought the afternoon called for a light cocktail. It was the weekend, after all! We had recently purchased a bottle of Smirnoff ‘Whipped’ Vodka, which by now no one is a stranger to. I hadn’t had it in years and thought it could be a fun addition to our home bar. Of course, I had no particular plans for it, but I could see the hub’s brain working as we set it down at the register.

Anyways – getting back to focus. As I mentioned, this cocktail was born on a whim – hence, the name of this cocktail! I always enjoy watching him behind the bar, but it’s even more fun {for the both of us!} when he gets really creative and mixes up fun concoctions. I do hope that you’ll try this one…it’s perfectly refreshing for a warm spring or summer afternoon, and can be enjoyed as easily on the comfort of your couch as it can be on the porch.

photo2

Cheers!

~~~
Whipped WhimsyΒ {original recipe}

Serves: 1 Β {15% ABV}

 

Ingredients:

3/4 ounce Triple Sec

3 ounces Smirnoff Whipped Vodka

2 ounces pineapple juice

6 dashes bitters

 

To Make:

Shake all ingredients above over ice vigorously in a cocktail shaker. Pour over ice into a tall hurricane glass, and top with 2 ounces of club soda.

photo1

Garnish with a festive straw and pineapple wedge {optional}.

 

3 thoughts on “thirsty thursday: whipped whimsy

  1. Pingback: thirsty thursday: the grand larceny | kitchen konfidential

share your thoughts

