boozy baked french toast

We all know by now that I love putting a funky twist on an old classic. This is definitely one of those recipes.

Brunch and I go way back. A favorite American past time, brunch is one of those things that we all relish and enjoy when we get to take part. Whether over a special holiday weekend, or {my favorite} a random Sunday with nothing but the promise of a leisurely day ahead, this fun meal is a great way to start the day.

As I’ve gotten older, I’ve certainly found that my taste buds have changed when it comes to this particular meal. Now, don’t get me wrong, I love a super sweet, stuffed French toast or classic Nutella crepes on occasion, but typically I find myself leaning more towards slightly savory dishes, with just a hint of sweetness.

Enter this delectable breakfast casserole. I’ve had this tasty nugget of a recipe in my arsenal for several years now {in fact, the first time I ever made it was when the hubs returned from a 6 week stint in Beijing, right after our honeymoon, no less!}. I first stumbled upon it on one of blogs I read on a regular basis, and I’ve never gone back. It is by far my favorite go-to recipe for feeding a crowd. 

photo2 photo3

What makes it so special? one might ask before scrolling down to review the recipe. When I tell people the secret behind this breakfast bombshell, I typically get an audible gasp.

Are you ready?! The secret ingredient is…

photo1

TOFU!

I get so much pleasure and enjoyment out of catching friends and family in what I like to call a “funky food situation”. Every time I’ve used tofu, whether it’s in sweet or savory dishes, no one has ever been able to figure it out. In fact, I recently made this for breakfast when friends came down for a beer festival – after inhaling his dish, I mentioned the secret ingredient and he totally did a double take :) I love it.

As I’ve mentioned, this is a great recipe to make for a large crowd, because it is so easily doubled or tripled. It can be made ahead, wrapped tightly and stored in the refrigerator, until you’re ready to set it out and bake it. And my particular favorite reason? – it’s a great, balanced way to start the day, especially if you know it’s going to be particularly indulgent…whether it’s a day for a beer festival or just lounging with friends and drinks, I promise you will not be disappointed.

~~~
Boozy Baked French Toast {recipe adapted from this Chocolate-Covered Katie recipe}

Serves 6-8

Ingredients:

8 cups cubed white bread, slightly stale {I like to use a good sourdough French bread that I make in my bread machine, but any good bakery-style bread will work great}

1/2 tsp. kosher salt

2 heaping tsp. cinnamon

6 tbsp. pure maple syrup

1-1/4 cups milk

1 pack of silken tofu

2 tsp. pure vanilla extract

1 cup pumpkin puree

2 ounces amaretto liqueur, plus additional for drizzling {optional}

1/2 – 1 cup raisins

 

To Make:

Grease a large baking dish.

Combine all of the ingredients, except for the cubed bread and raisins, into the bowl of your food processor and puree until extremely smooth {I let it go, untouched, for at least 2-3 minutes, then give it a scrape, then let it go for another 2-3 minutes}.

photo3 photo4

Place the cubed bread into a very large bowl, then toss in the raisins. Pour the smooth puree over the cubed bread and raisin mixture, and fold until combined, making sure to thoroughly coat each cube of bread.

photo4

photo5

Drizzle additional amaretto over the top of the casserole to your preference {I find that a generous amount makes for a wonderful end result}. Tightly wrap the entire dish, either with saran wrap or a lid, and refrigerate overnight.

When Ready to Bake:

30 minutes before ready to set the oven, place the casserole on the countertop to help take the chill off. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees and bake, uncovered, for 30-35 minutes or until the top edges of the bread cubes begin to brown slightly.

Top with maple syrup or your favorite French Toast toppings – we like to set out a toppings bar with an assortment of items…chocolate chips, butter, nuts, whipped cream, etc.

photo8

Brunch on, my dears!

7 thoughts on “boozy baked french toast

  1. I’m a huge fan of breakfast “casserole” type dishes when feeding a crowd and this french toast sounds like the perfect solution. Yummy ingredients and it looks delicious. :)

  2. Hi there! This article couldn’t be written any better!
    Looking through this post reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He always kept talking about this. I will send this article to him.

    Fairly certain he’s going to have a very good read.
    Many thanks for sharing!

share your thoughts

