power juice

Want to know my favorite way to start the day?

other than a cup of coffee and catching up on my reading, but that’s irrelevant…

Freshly pressed fruit and vegetable juice! For me, there is nothing better tasting, refreshing, and just plain ol’ delicious than a mason jar brimming with the sweet pulp of fruits and vegetables. This is the best way to pack in your vitamins, my friends!

The hubs and I bought our first juicer late last December – I had wanted one for quite some time, but in typical “Alicia fashion” couldn’t justify the cost if I wasn’t sure how much use it would {or wouldn’t} get. I am not a fan of purchasing anything, only to have it sitting around and collecting dust. We finally bit the bullet after Christmas; a company gift card was put to good used, and we wound up ordering one, this particular model, in fact.

Fast forward to that first day of juicing. Not really knowing what I was getting myself into, I pulled whatever fresh ingredients I had in my bin out and began washing away. A few minutes, and a few passes through the juicer later, I had whipped up a brightly colored, fresh and frothy beverage. One sip was all it took, my dears…one sip, and we were hooked.

We go on kicks where I will juice almost every evening, usually after dinner when there are dishes to wash anyways, and siphon them into waiting mason jars for breakfast the next morning. I’ve experimented with some kooky combinations, but the one I’ve chosen to share here today is a personal favorite of the hubs. Rather than just rave on and on about how good it tastes, let’s take a look at how good it is for you!

-Carrots are perhaps best known for their rich supply of the antioxidant nutrient that was actually named for them: beta-carotene. However, these delicious root vegetables are the source not only of beta-carotene, but also of a wide variety of antioxidants and other health-supporting nutrients. The areas of antioxidant benefits, cardiovascular benefits, and anti-cancer benefits are the best-researched areas of health research with respect to dietary intake of carrots.

-Granny Smith apples have a high fiber content and a low amount of calories, helping you feel fuller longer. They help to slow digestion, regulate blood sugar, and aid in keeping your teeth healthy.

-Ginger isΒ  is a free radical scavenger, antioxidant; thus inhibits lipid peroxidation and that these attributes could be contributing to its known gastroprotective effects. It provides relief from the common cold, and is a great way to keep your stomach feeling comfortable.

This combination is what I call our “power juice”. Taking care of yourself isn’t just about going to the gym, wearing sunscreen, etc. So much of what we do is affected by what we put INSIDE our bodies, so let’s start the day off on a healthy note, eh?

~~~

Power Juice {serves 1}

Ingredients:

5-7 large carrots, washed/peeled, cut into chunks

1 medium sized apple, cut into quarters {I like to use Granny Smith apples}

fresh ginger root, about 1/2″ or so, peeled

other optional add-ins…

-cucumber chunks

-celery stalks

-fresh kale leaves

-half an orange

To Prepare:

Assemble all ingredients as listed above, making sure each piece is thoroughly washed and scrubbed. Add into the feeder tube of your juicer, making to to allow plenty of time between ingredients so each gets fully juiced.Β I like to do the ginger first, as its small size sometimes doesn’t always make it through – doing the other pieces after it helps to extract more of the pulp.

Drink immediately, or store in an airtight container for no longer than 24 hours. Keep refrigerated.

2 thoughts on “power juice

share your thoughts

