buttermilk, made at home (!)

Two simple, common staples is all this one takes. I’m not joking.

photo4

We all need a few “party tricks” to pull out from under our sleeves. Whether baking, mixing up a cocktail, or throwing out a wing and a prayer and hoping for dinner, it never fails that sometimes, you need to roll up your sleeves and pull it out.

This is one of those recipes.

I was baking not too long ago and, lo and behold, was elbow deep in dough and came to the realization that I was fresh out of buttermilk. OUT OF BUTTERMILK! – how did I let this happen? I typically always have this tangy ingredient in my refrigerator, tucked away for when days begging for homemade biscuits are calling my name. But here I am, out of buttermilk and out of luck. The hubs was busy doing yard work, so what was a girl to do? Rather than running the risk of a last-minute store trip, I turned to my recipe repertoire and sent up a quick prayer to the culinary heavens.

I was certainly in luck when I stumbled upon this gem. Calling for no more than milk and freshly squeezed lemon juice, a perfect substitution was on the way to being born! These are the moments that I love in the kitchen…coming across the perfect solution for what seems like a truly huge issue {when in reality we know it’s not at all}. Regardless, I’ve got this one tucked away for the next time that I need to whip this one out. Keep it in mind – it truly is a miracle worker!

~~~

Homemade Buttermilk*

Ingredients:

1 cup milk {I tend to use 1% because that’s what I have on hand}

1 tbsp. fresh lemon juice

 photo4

photo3

To Prepare:

In a small bowl, add your milk and lemon juice. Whisk to combine, then set aside for several minutes.

Once the “buttermilk” is ready to use, you’ll see that the mixture has curdled slightly – this is the acidity from the lemon working its magic! Use in any recipe that calls for buttermilk.

I prefer to not make this in batches to store in the refrigerator; rather, I’ll make it shortly before starting a recipe. I’ve never stored it long term and am not sure how the flavor or texture would be. 

*this can easily be doubled or tripled, depending on how much buttermilk your recipe calls for. Simply do the math and you’re set – 2 cups milk + 2 tbsp. lemon juice will yield you two perfect cups of buttermilk, etc. 

4 thoughts on “buttermilk, made at home (!)

  1. Pingback: bourbon caramelized apple scones | kitchen konfidential

  2. Pingback: homemade peanut butter | kitchen konfidential

share your thoughts

