thirsty thursday: the pickleback

Nothing says summertime quite like barbecues, poolside time, picnics and – the pickleback shooter!

both images courtesy of Google

Many of you are probably scratching your heads at the mention of this unusual drink, and until not long ago, I was doing the exact same thing. In fact, I can clearly remember getting a text message proudly stating “I just did a pickleback! And it was delicious!”. Having no idea what this was,  I quickly turned to trusty ol’ Google and saw it, right there in front of me…

 “A pickleback is a type of shot wherein a shot of whiskey is chased by a shot of pickle brine. The pickle brine works to neutralize both the taste of the whiskey and the burn of the alcohol. The Pickleback is sometimes also called a Piskey.” courtesy of Wikipedia

 So there you have it, dears. Probably the most unusual and interesting shooter I’ve heard for quite some time, without question! I had put it in the back of my head  but decided last minute – what better time to bring this drink to the forefront on the season’s first big grill out day? We’re talking Memorial Day, of course!

Truth be told, we had a rather low key day, which was absolutely perfect after somewhat of a whirlwind weekend. Back porch sitting, beer sipping, and just enjoying the gorgeous day couldn’t have been made any better. But then the hubs and I thought, let’s spice up this celebration! {no pun intended}

Putting my reservations aside about the curious combination of liquids, I bravely watched while the hubs measured out the required amounts, then set two shooters down, side by side. Throwing caution to the wind, we went right in. And I’ll be the first to say how surprised I was; it tasted fabulous! The slightly smoky tang of the bourbon was lessened by the sweet and briny pickle juice, and the flavors made such a great {albeit weird} combination. I can confidently say that this is a crowd pleasing drink, one I will certainly be bringing out for barbecues and get-togethers this summer :)

The lesson of today, on this ‘Thirsty Thursday’….never be afraid to try a new cocktail, whether it’s a shooter, a cocktail, or {gasp!} a shot. You might surprise yourself…cheers to the pickle!

~~~

Pickleback Shooters {makes one drink}

Ingredients:

1/2 to 1 ounce of your choice bourbon or whisky {we used Wild Turkey American Honey}

1/2 to 1 ounce of pickle juice {I opted for bread and butter pickle brine, and the hubs used a basic kosher dill…whatever is on hand works great!}

 

To Make/Enjoy:

In two shooter glasses, measure out the desired amount of liquor in the first. In the additional glass, pour in an equal amount of your pickle juice. Take the drink first by shooting the liquor, then finishing off with the pickle juice. If desired, end the ritual by enjoying a pickle of your choice!

6 thoughts on “thirsty thursday: the pickleback

  1. I love you dearly, but I certainly won’t join you in any picklebacking when I come to visit next weekend ;) also, I’m so excited to see you!!

share your thoughts

