homemade peanut butter

There is nothing more satisfying, to me, knowing exactly where my food comes from, what I am feeding myself and my husband, and how it’s going to make us feel afterward.

While I am not lucky enough to have a garden overflowing with fresh produce, easy access to a fish market, and a local butcher, I make the most of what I can. For me, it’s so incredibly rewarding to know that I made this from scratch. Whether it’s my homemade bread, preserves, pasta, and everything else near and far between, I sit down so happy at each meal knowing each and every ingredient that goes into my cooking.

Where am I going with this, you might ask?

I decided not long ago to try my hand at homemade peanut butter. As you know, I’ve been on a bit of a “tips and tricks” kick lately {see here and here, for example!} so I figured I may as well keep going on while the streak is hot.

We eat a lot of peanut butter in our house. From slathered on fresh bread right out of the machine, smeared onto graham crackers, or melted down slightly for a quick and tasty ice cream topping, it is definitely a staple that goes pretty quick. And buying organic peanut butter, while totally worth it, is not totally cheap. So! I decided to, quite literally, cut the losses and start producing my own! I figured that it couldn’t be too hard.

photo1

…and boy oh boy was I right! This is a 5 minute recipe wonder. Provided you have a relatively high powered food processor, it takes only a matter of minutes to whip this up. And if you’re blessed enough to live near a Whole Foods Market, hit up the bulk bins for you nuts. Saving money while enjoying delicious, wholesome foods! – even better.

And don’t feel tied down to a classic peanut either, dears! Get a little crazy – almond butter, hazelnut butter, cashew butter…the list is endless. We’re only limited here by our imagination {…and I suppose, availability…but I digress} so have fun with it! You’ll enjoy, I promise.

photo5

~~~

Homemade Peanut Butter {recipe courtesy of Alton Brown}

Makes about 1.5 cups

 

Ingredients:

15 ounces shelled and skinned peanuts {I used the bulk bin at my local grocery store}

1 tsp. kosher salt, or to taste {feel free to omit, if you’d like}

1/5 tsp. honey, preferably local

1.5 tbsp. oil {I used canola, but feel free to use peanut oil, vegetable oil, etc…coconut oil would be a great addition, also}

 

To Prepare:

Place the peanuts, salt and honey into the bowl of a large food processor {mine is a 14-cup bowl, which accommodated the volume nicely*}. Process for 1-2 minutes.

Scrape down the sides of the bowl.

photo4

Place the lid back on and continue to process while slowly drizzling in the oil and process until the mixture is completely smooth, 1.5 – 2 minutes.

Place the peanut butter in an airtight container and store in the refrigerator for up to 2 months.

 

Sidenote:

  • For a fun twist, substitute pure maple syrup for the honey if you aren’t a honey lover.
  • Reserve a small amount of the peanuts before processing, and fold in for a “crunchy” style spread before bottling and refrigerating.
  • Swirl with your favorite chocolate spread for a more decadent treat.

*if you don’t have as large a bowl for your food processor, simply halve the recipe to fit your needs

5 thoughts on “homemade peanut butter

  1. Pingback: peanut butter & banana breakfast smoothie | kitchen konfidential

  2. Pingback: “snickerdoodle” cookie dough dip | kitchen konfidential

  3. Pingback: peanut butter power bites | kitchen konfidential

share your thoughts

