candied citrus peels

A recent bout of juicing has left me with a riduculous wonderful amount of residual citrus fruits. Because we sadly don’t compost, and because I couldn’t bring myself to throw so much deliciousness out, I knew that there had to be another solution. A few Google searches later, and I knew I had come up with the perfect answer…

…candied peels!

This is something I had yet to try, in all my time spent in the kitchen. To be quite honest, the thought of preparing and making candy anything always felt slightly out of reach; something I longed to try, but just couldn’t bring myself to do. I blamed it on my lack of resources {not having a candy thermometer}, not trusting the cheap stovetop in my kitchen {the worst for uneven heating and cooking!}, and really, I was just a little scared. So I though this would be the perfect trial run – I mean, how hard could it be to work with what’s little more than simple syrup? My cutting skills are up to par, and my knives are good. I was set, and ready to start this adventure.

I’ll be honest in saying this is, easily, one of the quickest and tastiest treats I’ve whipped up in quite some time. The bitterness of the pith is removed prior to cooking, so all you’re left with is a sweet burst of citrus flavor, highlighted and rounded out with the simple syrup in the second part of the cooking process. The final sprinkling of sugar at the end takes it over the edge, making it seem more indulgent than it really is. A few adaptations I found along the way:

-if you like less sweet treats, scale back on the sugar during the second cooking {I reduced mine to 3/4 cup, and it was perfect for my palette}

-a squeeze of fresh lemon juice in the second cooking helps to enhance the flavor

-mix in a little bit of fine sea salt with the sugar {for tossing at the end} to get more of that “salty sweet” combination so many of us love

The hubs has plans to integrate these little jewels into summer cocktails, both as garnishes and flavor enhances. Myself? I can see a second batch happening soon, with one end dipped in chocolate and maybe a few sprinkles of fun, flavorful toppings. Happy candy-making, y’all!

~~~

Candied Citrus Peels {adapted from Martha Stewart}

Ingredients:

2 grapefruits

3 oranges

1-1/2 cups sugar

 

To Prepare:

With a sharp paring knife, slice off ends of all fruits. Following curve of fruit, cut away the outermost peel, leaving most of the white pith on fruit. Slice peel lengthwise int to 1/4″ wide strips.

In a medium pot of boiling water, cook peel until tender, about 10 minutes. With a slotted spoon, transfer peel to a wire rack set over a rimmed baking sheet. Spread in a single layer to dry slightly, about 15 minutes.

In a medium saucepan, bring 1 cup of sugar and 1 cup of water to a boil over high heat, stirring to dissolve sugar. Add peel and boil until it turns translucent and syrup thickens, about 8 to 10 minutes. With a slotted spoon, transfer peel to wire rack, separating the pieces as needed.

Let peel dry for 1 hour. Toss with 1/2 cup sugar to coat.

Candied Citrus Peel

 

 

6 thoughts on “candied citrus peels

share your thoughts

