bleu cheese dressing

I may have mentioned this before {does anyone remember my lightened-up buffalo chicken dip?} but as a child, I had a severe aversion with anything and everything bleu cheese. As in, my dad would enjoy it on his salad every night, but you couldn’t pay me to get near that bowl with a 10-ft. pole. That’s a bold statement, considering at that point I was just a kid with an allowance.

However- times change, and so do taste buds. And thank goodness for continual growth and change! I’ve been a huge fan of bleu cheese for at least the past several years, most notably starting in my post-college days. Too many slices of pizza and wings dipped in basic Ranch dressing led me and my palette to seek something new and bold, full of flavor and “adult”. I chuckle when I say this.

Hands down, this is easily one of my favorite condiments nowadays. And because you all know me so well at this point, making this dressing my own was bound to happen. Obviously. But I have to credit my mom for this one, as she was the one who introduced me to making homemade bleu cheese dressing awhile back. Her mixture of full-fat sour cream and local buttermilk, flecked with salt and pepper, was absolute perfection. So naturally, I’ve done little to change her structure. By subbing in low-fat sour cream and low-fat buttermilk {I find it slightly tangier and thus, more flavorful for cooking), you will certainly not be lacking any flavor whatsoever! I can also advocate a few dashes of Worcestershire in here, or perhaps if you’re feeling adventurous…some hot sauce!

If anything, you can enjoy twice the amount you’d typically have….at least, that’s how I look at it.

~~~

Bleu Cheese Dressing {makes about 1.5 cups}

A perfect salad topper, veggie dipper, or just eaten by the spoonful. I won’t judge or tell, I promise.

Ingredients:

1 wedge of good Bleu Cheese {about 5-6 ounces}

1/2 cup low-fat buttermilk

1/2 cup reduced fat sour cream

salt and pepper, to taste *I went a little heavy with both, because they accent so nicely the flavor of the cheese
To Prepare:
Crumble the cheese, leaving some pieces larger than others. Add into the bottom of a small mixing bowl.
IMG_3433
IMG_3434
Measure out the wet ingredients, and add into the cheese crumbles. I incorporated the buttermilk first, then gently folded in the sour cream. Season with salt and pepper to taste.
IMG_3435
IMG_3437
Dressing will stay well in the refrigerator, tightly covered, for up to one week.
Let’s Discuss: did you have any dressing aversions when you were younger? Do you still? 
2 thoughts on “bleu cheese dressing

  1. Pingback: hot & sweet baked chicken wings | kitchen konfidential

  2. Pingback: garlic parmesan wings | kitchen konfidential

share your thoughts

