old fashioned sugar cookies

Yes, another holiday dessert recipe!
IMG_4679
This cookie is special, and not just because it’s easily one of my favorite cookies. Like, ever. I can still remember the first time that I had this; back in college, when I went home for Christmas break, my youngest sister had already been hard at work whipping up lots of fabulous treats. We always made sugar cookies as children – we spent hours with our mom rolling out dough, decorating all the shapes we cut out, and eating way too many {but who doesn’t?}. So the first time that I sank my teeth into these pillowy, soft cookies I was instantly converted. Gone were my days of making the thinner and snappier version. My heart, and my taste preference, had changed.
These cookies have the best texture, without question. The edges get slightly crisp, but the interior remains perfectly soft and moist. I had been looking forward for weeks to make these cookies, but I had to make them my own {surprise, surprise}. The fine folks over at Chobani contacted me not too long ago about participating in their #MadeWithChobani Project, and I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to do something crazy-fun with these cookies!
IMG_4687
I absolutely love cooking with Chobani Greek Yogurt. Not only is it a great substitution for oils and butter in baking, but it packs in a hefty dose of extra protein! The end product remains unaffected; I like to say that I can eat a few extra cookies because I made them better for me ;)
IMG_4681
You absolutely, totally MUST make these cookies. And when you do, let me know what you think! I’d love to see photos, and be sure to tag them as #MadeWithChobani so we can spread the goodness! Happy cookie-making, and eating!
~~~
Old Fashioned Sugar Cookies {recipe adapted from Tate’s Bake Shop}
Makes about 24 cookies 
Ingredients:
3-1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. salt
1 cup Chobani 0% Greek Yogurt
1/2 stick unsalted butter, softened
1-1/4 cups sugar
1 tbsp. pure vanilla extract
1 large egg
1 cup reduced fat sour cream
To Prepare:
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper and set aside.
In a medium sized bowl combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Set aside.
IMG_4693
IMG_4689
IMG_4688
With a standing mixer {or in a large bowl} cream together the Chobani 0% Plain Greek Yogurt, butter and sugar on medium speed until they are light and fluffy, about 3-5 minutes. Add in the vanilla and the egg; mix well, and scrape down the sides of the bowl to ensure everything is evenly distributed. Add in the sour cream and mix until combined. With the mixer on low, slowly add in the flour mixture in three to four batches, or until combined. Be sure to not overmix.
Drop the cookies on the prepared baking sheets about three inches apart; the cookies will flatten out and spread slightly.
IMG_4686
IMG_4685
Bake for 16 minutes or until the are pale/golden brown {your oven may take less time or more, depending on the size of your cookie and the actual oven temperature}. Allow them to cool for 3 minutes before transferring onto a wire rack to finish cooling completely.
IMG_4680
Enjoy!
share your thoughts

