holiday baked brie

Have I intrigued you with the title of today’s recipe, y’all? Are your taste buds absolutely tantalized?

IMG_4786

Well, then. All jokes and silly word play aside, I have a confession to make. I did not like Brie until about a year ago. I know, I know! Crazy to think that I, a lover of all cheeses {especially the stinkier ones} could not bring myself to embrace the creamy goodness that is Brie. Perhaps I just didn’t allow myself enough opportunities to like it, I couldn’t tell you. But last year, for a Friends-giving gathering, I decided to give it a shot. Why not wrap it up in pastry? Surely I could add in and incorporate flavors that I knew I enjoyed, and transform it that way.

Y’all, one bite was all it took for me. Not to mention the friends that we had gathered with that evening. It was INHALED by all those in attendance, perhaps the most by me. I was so thankful I had given it another shot! We’re using a combination of dried fruits, herbs and honey to dress the Brie, but you can easily swap out for whatever you have on hand. That is the beauty of this dish. It’s easily customizable to whatever you have, or whatever flavor profile you’re craving.

IMG_4781

IMG_4783

Ever since that first appearance, this is one I bring to almost every gathering we attend. You’ll be lucky if you leave with leftovers. I wouldn’t hold your breath on that!

~~~

Holiday Baked BrieΒ 

This festive appetizer comes together in a matter of minutes, and utilizes ingredients most of us have on hand! To make it even more holiday-esque, serve it on a plate surrounded by larges branches of rosemary; it will appear to be floating on a wreath!

Ingredients:

1 sheet of puff pastry, set out and thawed accordingly

1 wheel Brie cheese {I like a double-cream version}, room temperature

1/2 cup dried cranberries

1/4 cup honey

3-4 tbsp. fresh rosemary leaves

salt and pepper, to taste

To Prepare:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

On a rimmed baking sheet, spray liberally with nonstick cooking spray. Unfold the puff pastry and lay in the center of the baking sheet.

Unwrap the Brie cheese and place on the puff pastry so that it is perfectly centered. Top with the dried cranberries and rosemary. Sprinkle with salt and pepper, then drizzle with the honey. Fold in the border of puff pastry so that the cheese is fully enclosed. Spray top with nonstick cooking spray so that it will get extra crisp while baking.

Bake in the upper portion of the oven for 30-35 minutes, or until the top is golden brown and the cheese is bubbling out slightly. Serve with toasted baguettes, crackers, assorted vegetables and hard salami.

IMG_4769

3 thoughts on “holiday baked brie

  1. Pingback: valentine’s day ideas & inspirations | kitchen konfidential

share your thoughts

