thirsty thursday: tequila mojitos

By now, you all know how much I enjoy a good cocktail. Specifically, one laced with bourbon and kept super simple. But…did you know that I also enjoy tequila?

IMG_5445

This is a far cry for me, as I have only recently begun to enjoy it in forms other than margaritas {and dollar shots at happy hour, but that’s an entirely different story}. A few nights ago, the hubs and I were combing through cocktail books and recipes, trying to decide upon what to make for the week’s upcoming date night. We have enjoyed so many fantastic winter drinks and great red wines over the past few months that our palettes longed for something bright and refreshing. Normally, I would have suggested something with a gin- or vodka-base, but he threw out the idea of “tequila?” and we knew we had to explore the possibility.

I had my doubts, I’ll be honest. But the hubs is such a wonderful curator of craft drinks, I knew that my doubts were for naught. And sure enough, he whipped up the cocktail I’m sharing today. Simple, fresh ingredients with a splash of spicy ginger syrup. YUM. And I’ll tell you – it came at the perfect time! We sipped on this drink; crisp, bright, and oh-so-refreshing, that the entire weekend that followed seemed to have known how we longed for sunshine and warm weather. A beautiful cocktail and a beautiful weekend go hand in hand; I hope you enjoy this as much as we did!

IMG_3105

IMG_5446

~~~

Tequila Mojitos {serves 1}

A refreshing break from the heavier cocktails that winter seems to cry for, this drink is sure to transport you to the warmest and sunniest of beaches. 

Ingredients:

1-1/2 ounces white tequila

3/4 ounces ginger infused simple syrup {see my recipe here}

cubed ice

club soda, for topping

fresh mint, for both the cocktail and as a garnish

lime wedges, for garnish

To Prepare:

Muddle the mint in the bottom of a rocks glass. Add ice cubes to glass and set aside.

In a shaker combine: ice, tequila, and ginger infused simple syrup. Shake vigorously until frosty, about 30-45 seconds. Strain over the ice into the rocks glass. Top with club soda. Garnish with mint leaves and a lime wedge.

IMG_5444

Cheers!

4 thoughts on “thirsty thursday: tequila mojitos

  1. Mojitos are my most favorite and they take to substituting clear liquors well. I’m so glad to see this most amazing of drinks made so well and represented so beautifully on the blogosphere. Thanks for sharing!

share your thoughts

