thirsty thursday: cucumber martini

I almost forgot to write this post because I was preoccupied…enjoying this cocktail!

IMG_6682

…just kidding. kinda.

I know that the hubs and I have been slightly MIA with our “thirsty thursday” posts – blame that on a lot of activites/trips/visits over the past few months! {read: here, here, & here…whew!}

But fear not! We’ll be back in full force over the summer months; the time and weather is idyllic for evenings spent on the porch with a fun and festive cocktail. Watching the sun set and the cool breeze is one of the things I look forward to most about the summer months, and I thought today’s cocktail would be the perfect one to kick off the season.

Gin is the perfect summer liquor, in my opinion, because of the herbal notes and crisp flavor. I’ll take it one step further and say that it is my liquor of choice, just because I love that flavor so gosh darn much. It pairs so beautifully with an assortment of flavors; so when the hubs came up with this cocktail for me, on a total whim, not long ago, I knew I had found my new go-to for the summer. And perhaps, after your first sip, you just may have, too!

IMG_6684

~    ~     ~

Cucumber Martini {serves 1, can easily be mulitplied}

A fun and refreshing twist on one of the most classic drinks, this cucumber martini tastes like it is infused with all the goodness of summer – fresh cucumbers, herbal notes from gin, and just a dash of St. Germain rounds it out with bright, fruity notes. One sip and you’ll see why we will be sipping on this all summer long!

Ingredients:

2-1/2 ounces gin {we like Hendricks}

1 ounce St. Germain

5 slices of cucumber, plus one or two extra for garnish

5 ice cubes

To Prepare:

Muddle 5 cucumber slices in a cocktail shaker, making sure to really break them apart to release their juices.

Add in the gin, St. Germain, and ice cubes.

Shake vigorously for at least 30 seconds or, until as the hubs says, “you’re hand is freezing”.

Strain into a chilled martini glass, and garnish with additional cucumber slice{s} floating on top.

IMG_6683

Cheers!

share your thoughts

