catching up over coffee

Good morning, friends. I thought today that maybe we could catch up over a bit of coffee…chat a little bit, and see how everyone is doing?

Because the first thing that I have to say is…

WHEW.

I’d be lying if I said that the past weeks months haven’t been a whirlwind. I’m sure you’ve noticed as well, from the overabundance of my “lately” posts that have been popping up over here. Don’t get me wrong; I’m certainly not complaining! It’s been a lovely, fun and wonderful summer but…I’m ready for things to SLOW.DOWN.

&&

in about 6 weeks, the hubs and I will get just that! Doesn’t that sound crazy?! Shoot, even just saying that we still have that much left on our calendar is a tad mind-blowing. Two weddings. Anniversary celebration. Trips out of town. Visitors in town. It’s quite the life we lead, eh?

But before I continue my barrage of words on schedules and trips, let me ask – what do you have coming up? Any fall weddings on your agenda? What about birthday celebrations, or family gatherings? OR! {and I’ll be quite jealous if your answer is ‘yes’} do you have any football travelling planned? The hubs and I are big fans {both college and NFL} and love that we get to spend parts of the week soaking up all the glory that is football. It is, quite simply, awesome. < 3

Lest you think I neglect the topic, let me assure you that I haven’t slowed down on my home cooking! Yes, it’s taken a bit of a backseat lately, which is why there has been a slight lessening of recipes here. I’m raising my hand and admitting that I’ve fallen back into scheduling our easy weekly meals; ones that I can cook basically with my eyes closed, and one hand tied behind my back. Still delicious and soul-warming, but not so exciting that I would deem them worthy of sharing. I have a list about 100 recipes deep that I am yearning to whip up, but just waiting for the right time {aka a more manageable calendar – ha!}. I miss cooking and sharing with you all! Nothing makes me happier than doing just that; and trust me, if I could figure out a way to pass food through the computer screen for y’all to try, you betcha I would be all over that.

What tasty dishes and treats have you whipped up lately? Are you just basking in the glory that is fall weather? This is my favorite time of year. Not only does it signify that our wedding anniversary is just around the corner, but I adore all things fall – cozy clothes, crackling fires, and the FOOD. Oh yes…soups and stews, casseroles, hearty grains, and the reappearance of my beloved crockpot. It makes my heart sing, all of this.

I’m so glad we got to sit down and catch up! In typical Alicia fashion, I have to run – another busy day ahead. Let me know how you’re doing too, I’d love to hear from you!

xoxo

share your thoughts

